Department of Medicine
Faculty Profiles by Division

Department of Medicine

Faculty Profiles

[Return To Index page]
photo N. A. Mark Estes, MD, FACC, FHRS


Professor of Medicine

Program Director, Clinical Cardiac Electrophysiology (CCEP) Fellowship


Phone: 412-647-4690

Office: South Tower, 3rd Floor, E352.2
200 Lothrop Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15213
Phone: 412-647-4690
Fax: 412-647-7979
Administrative Assistant:
Miranda Snyder
Address: South Tower, 3rd Floor, WE352.1
200 Lothrop Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15213
Phone: 412-647-6272
Fax: 412-647-7979
Education and Training
Undergraduate, University of Pennsylvania, 1979
Graduate School of Medicine, Harvard University, 1973
Doctor of Medicine, University of Cincinnati, 1977
Internship and Residency, New England Deaconess Hospital, 1980
Fellowship in Cardiology, Tufts-New England Medical Center Hospitals, 1982
Fellowship in Cardiac Electrophysiology, Massachusetts General Hospital, 1983
Research Interest
Prediction and Prevention of Sudden Death
Prediction and Prevention of Atrial Fibrillation
Cardiovascular Disease and Arrhythmias in the Athlete
Clinical Interest
Evaluation and Management of Atrial Fibrillation, Supraventricular and Ventricular Arrhythmias
Pacemaker and Implantable Cardioverter Defibrillators
Evaluation and Management of Syncope
Educational Interest
Fundamentals of Clinical Cardiac Electrophysiology (Course Director)
Advanced Ablation for the Cardiac Electrophysiologist (Course Director)
Notable Achievements
Past President: Heart Rhythm Society
Past Chairman: American Heart Association Council on Clinical Cardiology
Chairman: American Heart Association Scientific Publishing Committee
Peter T. Kilgore Award, University of Cincinnati School of Medicine
Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society, University of Cincinnati School of Medicine
Best Doctors in Boston Magazine, 1997-2018
The Best Doctors in America- (Woodward/White, Inc.) 1997-2018, 1997-2018
American Heart Association Great Communicator Award 2001, 2001
Tufts University School of Medicine Teaching Award 2001, 2001
Lifespan Distinguished Service Award February 2003, 2003