Department of Medicine
Faculty Profiles by Division

Division of Pulmonary, Allergy and Critical Care Medicine

Faculty Profiles

[Return To Index page]
photo Jessica Bon Field, MD, MS

Pulmonary, Allergy and Critical Care Medicine

Associate Professor of Medicine

Director, Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine Fellowship Program


Phone: 412-648-3098

Office: UPMC Montefiore Hospital, NW628
3459 Fifth Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15213
Phone: 412-648-3098
Fax: 412-383-7113
Administrative Assistant:
Brittany Manning
Phone: 412-648-3098
Fax: 412-383-7113
Education and Training
MS, University of Pittsburgh Graduate School of Public Health, 2015
MD, Jefferson Medical College, 2000
BS, Pennsylvania State University, 1996
Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine Fellowship, University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine, 2008
Chief Medical Resident, Thomas Jefferson University Hospital, 2004
Internal Medicine Residency, Thomas Jefferson University Hospital, 2003
Research Interest
Dr. Bon’s academic and research interests focus on the clinical translational investigation of clinical and molecular phenotypes and disease progression in COPD. Her research concentrates on the role of inflammation and immune mechanisms in lung disease progression and musculoskeletal comorbidities, with the goal of identifying targets for precision therapy in COPD.
Clinical Interest
Dr. Bon’s clinical interests are focused on the management and treatment of chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD). In her outpatient pulmonary practice, she evaluates patients for lung volume reduction surgery and manages patients with difficult to treat and severe COPD.
For my complete bibliography, Click Here.
Selected Publications:
Sciurba, F. C., Chandra, D., Bon, J. Bronchoscopic lung volume reduction in COPD: Lessons in implementing clinically based precision medicine. Journal of the American Medical Association. 2016.
Bon, J., Kahloon, R., Zhang, Y., Xue, J., Fuhrman, C. R., Tan, J., Burger, M., Kass, D. J., Csizmadia, E., Otterbein, L., Chandra, D., Bhargava, A., Pilewski, J. M., Roodman, G. D., Sciurba, F.C., Duncan, S. R. Autoreactivity to glucose regulated protein 78 links emphysema and osteoporosis in smokers. PLoS One. 2014.
Bon, J, Liao, S, Tseng, G, Sciurba, FC. Considerations and pitfalls in phenotyping and reclassification of chronic obstructive pulmonary disease. Translational Research. 2013; 162(4): 252-7.
Bon, J. Does radiographic emphysema correlate with low bone mineral density?. Current Opinions in Pulmonary Medicine. 2012; 18(2): 125-30.
Bon, J, Fuhrman, CR, Weissfeld, JL, Duncan, SR, Branch, RA, Chang, CCH, Zhang, Y, Leader, JK, Greenspan, SL, Sciurba, FC. Radiographic emphysema predicts low bone mineral density in a tobacco exposed cohort. American Journal of Respiratory and Critical Care Medicine. 2011; 183(7): 885-90.
Bon, JM, Zhang, Y, Duncan, SR, Pilewski, JM, Zaldonis, D, Zeevi, A, McCurry, KR, Greenspan, SL, Sciurba, FC. Plasma inflammatory mediators associated with bone metabolism in COPD. COPD: The Journal of COPD. 2010; 7(3): 186-91.
Sponsored Research/Activities
Title: Pittsburgh Innovation in Collaborative Training of Residents Alliance
Role: Principal Investigator
Funding Agency: National Heart, Lung, & Blood Institute
Grant Number: R38 HL150207
Start Year: 2020
End Year: 2024
Title: Autoimmunity and Emphysema and Risk of Osteoporosis in Smokers
Role: Principal Investigator
Funding Agency: National Heart, Lung, & Blood Institute
Grant Number: R01 HL128289
Start Year: 2016
End Year: 2021
Title: Network Management Core (NEMO) for the Pulmonary Trials Cooperative (PTC)
Role: Co-Investigator
Funding Agency: National Heart, Lung, & Blood Institute
Grant Number: U01 HL128954
Start Year: 2018
End Year: 2020
Notable Achievements
Associate Editor - BMC Pulmonary Medicine, 2016
Junior Translational Scholar Award - PACCM, 2015
Young Investigator Award - PACCM, 2015
Top 5% Abstract Award - ERS, 2008
Intern of the Year Award - Thomas Jefferson University Hospital, 2001
Annie Simpson General Medicine Award - Jefferson Medical College, 2000
Hobart Amory Hare Honor Society - Jefferson Medical College, 2000